Teen Driver Education

RESOURCE CENTER

Learners’ Permit and Provisional Driver License

 

Ready to get your California Learners’ PERMIT? Driver education is one of the many requirements needed when applying for a provisional permit.

Express Driving School proudly offers online driver education, which allows you to learn at your own pace in the comfort of your own home.  You will have access to 30 hours of DMV approved lessons, videos, and quizzes. Not sure if you want to sign up? Try our demo lessons!! Once you have successfully completed the online course, we will mail your DMV Certificate of Completion directly to you.

Teen Driver
Student Driver Car
Driver Education and Driver Training Form Requirements

If you are 15 ½ to 17 ½ years of age, you will need to provide a:

  • Certificate of Completion of Driver Education. OR
  • Certificate of Enrollment In An Integrated (Classroom) Driver Education AND Driver Training Program.

Now you are ready to complete STEP 1 of obtaining your learners’ permit!

Step 1:

Apply for a California Learners’ Permit.  You will need the following:

  •  Be at least 15 ½, but under 18 years of age
  • Make an appointment with the DMV to submit all documents and take the written test.
  • Complete the application form DL 44. (An original DL 44 form must be submitted. Copies obtained by xeroxing, faxing, or other methods will not be accepted.)
  • Have your parents’ or guardians’ signatures on the application form DL 44
  • Provide your social security number.
  • Verify your true full name, birth date, and legal presence
  • Submit the proper form(s) for driver education and/or driver training classes (See below for details.)
  • Pay the application fee (This fee entitles you to three exams of any type within the 12–month period and pays for both the instruction permit and the driver license. If all requirements are not met within the 12–month period, the application becomes void and all steps must be completed again.)
  • Pass a vision exam
  • Give your fingerprint, provide your signature (that will appear on the driver license), and have your picture taken.
  • Pass a written traffic laws and sign test. There are 46 questions on the test. A passing score is at least 38 correct answers. You have three chances to pass the test. If you fail, you must wait 7 days before taking it again.
Step 3:

Your Provisional Driver License.  In order to get your provisional license, you will need:

 To take your driving test:

  • Make a driving test appointment(s). (Driving tests are not given without an appointment.) You may also call 1–800–777–0133 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday–Friday, to make a driving test appointment.
  • Bring to the drive test:
  • Provide proof of financial responsibility (insurance) for your vehicle
  • Vehicle registration
  • Your provisional license (ensure that it is properly validated by your driving instructor)
Step 2:

Your California Learners’ Permit.  The following “provisions” apply to your permit:

  • A parent, guardian, spouse or adult 25 years of age or older, who has a valid California driver license, must be with you when you drive. He or she must sit in a position close enough to take control of the vehicle, if necessary. It is illegal for you to drive alone at any time.
  • Before being eligible to take your driving test you must:
  • Be 16 years old

AND

  • Have held your permit for a minimum of six months

AND

  • Have completed driver education

AND

  • Have completed 6 hours of professional driver training

AND

  • Have completed 50 hours of practice with an adult 25 years or older. The adult must have a valid California driver license and certify to the 50 hours of practice. At least 10 of the 50 hours must have been done at night.
Licensed Driver Ahead

Once you have passed your drive test, CONGRATULATIONS!! You are a California licensed driver!  Well, with some restrictions for the first year…

Provisional Driving Restrictions—You must be accompanied and supervised by a licensed parent, guardian or other licensed driver 25 years of age or older or a licensed or certified driving instructor when you:

o   Transport passengers under 20 years of age at any time, for the first twelve months.

o   Drive between 11pm and 5am for the first twelve months.

Online Course Demo

See a sneak preview of our course outline

Get Started Now!

Jump to our registration page to get started